contact motogpSpain
contact motogpSpain
  • MotoGP tickets for the Spanish Grand Prix Catalonia/Aragon/Valencia

  • MotoGP Catalonia at Montmelo’s racetrack Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

  • Grand Prix Catalogne de MotoGP au circuit à Montmeló

  • MotoGP tickets Grand Prix Catalonia, Circuit de Barcelona-Catalonia

  • MotoGP tickets Grand Prix Aragon

  • Grand Prix Aragon at racetrack Motorland Alcañiz

  • MotoGP race at Circuit Ricardo Tormo Cheste

  • Grand Prix Valencia at Circuit Ricardo Tormo Cheste, Premium Agency - Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

Logo Instagram_Suitours   Logo Facebook_Suitours   Logo Flickr_Suitours   Logo YouTube_Suitours

contact:QR, Premium Agency - Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya

Logo Instagram_Suitours   Logo Facebook_Suitours   Logo Flickr_Suitours   Logo YouTube_Suitours


The Jerez Racetrack

The "Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto" is a 4.423 km long racing circuit located in the city of Jerez de la Frontera, in the province of Cádiz, Andalusia, Spain. It was inaugurated in 1985. The circuit is situated near the A-382 motorway, close to the Monte Castillo residential area.

The Circuito de Jerez replaced the urban layout at El Portal, which hosted the Grand Prix Nuestra Señora de la Merced. Reflecting the city's interest in motorsports (such as the "Rally del Sherry"), the circuit was built in 1985 through the initiative of the then-mayor Pedro Pacheco Herrera (and designed by Sandro Rocci) to host the Spanish Formula 1 Grand Prix, even though Formula 1 wasn't very popular in Spain at the time. The circuit was inaugurated on December 8, 1985, hosting a round of the Spanish Touring Car Championship, even though the construction works were not fully completed.

Despite hosting remarkable races, such as Ayrton Senna's victory by only 14 milliseconds in 1986, the circuit lost the organization of the Grand Prix to the Circuit de Catalunya after the 1990 edition.

In 1994, safety improvements were made, including the construction of a new chicane at the Senna corner. Thanks to these upgrades, Jerez once again hosted a Formula 1 race, this time the European Grand Prix in 1994 and 1997. The latter race featured an intense title battle between Michael Schumacher and Jacques Villeneuve, which ended with Schumacher's retirement and disqualification and Villeneuve's crowning as the champion.

The circuit has been the venue for the Spanish Motorcycle Grand Prix since 1987, continuously. In 1988, it was named the Gran Premio Expo 92, replacing the canceled Portuguese Grand Prix to avoid clashing with the other Spanish race at the Jarama Circuit. Jerez also hosted events of the World Endurance Championship (from 1986 to 1988), the BPR Global GT Series (in 1995), the World Superbike Championship (in 1990), the International Formula 3000 (from 1988 to 1991 and in 1997), the World Series by Renault (in 2004, 2014, and 2015), the European Formula 3000 (from 2002 to 2004 and in 2008), and the Superleague Formula (in 2008).

On May 2, 2013, the Jerez City Council decided to rename the Ducados corner to the Jorge Lorenzo corner, in honor of the three-time MotoGP champion.
In 2015, González Byass announced the remodeling of the Torre Tío Pepe at the Circuit, which was completed in 2018.
In 2017, the circuit's inner track was re-inaugurated to host Cross Country and Motocross competitions.
In 2018, the circuit's name was changed to Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto, in memory of the motorcycle racer who passed away in 2017.
In 2019, during the Spanish Motorcycle Grand Prix, corner 6 of the circuit was renamed from Dry Sack to Dani Pedrosa, in honor of the former rider.